Jost B. Jonas, MD

Jost B. Jonas, MD

Jost B. Jonas, MD is a comprehensive ophthalmologist and clinical scientist and is Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology of the Medical Faculty Mannheim of the Ruprecht-Karls-University Heidelberg/Germany.

He has research interests in the intravitreal application of medication as treatment of intraocular edematous, proliferative and neovascular diseases; the intravitreal cell-based (drug) therapy; the homologous intravitreal bone-marrow transplantation; the retinal microglial cell system; the contact lens associated ophthalmodynamometry for measurement of the retinal arterial and venous blood pressure and cerebrospinal fluid pressure; the morphologic diagnosis of optic nerve diseases including the glaucomas; the association between the cerebrospinal fluid pressure and ocular disorders; population-based studies (Beijing Eye Study 2001, 2006, 2011; Beijing Public Health Care Study; Beijing Pediatric Eye Study; Beijing Children Eye Study; Beijing High-School Students Study; Shandong Children Eye Study; Gobi Desert Children Eye Study; Asymptomatic Polyvascular Abnormalities in Community (APAC) Study; Kailuan Study; Ningxia High Myopia Study; Central India Eye and Medical Study; Central India Children Eye Study; Ural Eye and Medical Study); and in the process of emmetropization and myopization.

He became member of the German Academy of Science Leopoldina, the Glaucoma Society of the International Congress of Ophthalmology, the Macula Society and Retina Society, and the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis. He is Honorary Member of the French Ophthalmological Society and Asia-Pacific Vitreoretinal Society and Fellow of the Association of Research in Vision and Ophthalmology ARVO. He has received the Glaucoma Award of the German Ophthalmologic Society, the Junior and Senior Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Senior Clinical Scientist Award of the World Glaucoma Association, the Prof. Robert-Ritch Glaucoma Award, the International Gold Awards of the Chinese Ophthalmologic Society, the Senior Award of the Asian Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology, and the International Scholar Award of the American Glaucoma Society.